Given free time, some students stay local; others prefer to go far.

Dear Phoenix,

Attending one of the country’s largest universities has given me the opportunity to meet people from all walks of life and many different states. Being a native Phoenician, I’ve been able to introduce other students to various attractions in the city of Phoenix and the state of Arizona. I asked a two people I’ve met this year where they would like to go and what they would like to do if they could go anywhere in Arizona.

Giant Coffee

photo courtesy of @mandalyn93 on instagram

Jackie Cotton is a sophomore from Wayne, Illinois. If she could do anything in Arizona, she said she would prefer to stay in Phoenix and read at cafes.

“I would just go cafe hopping. Back home, we don’t really have small cafes that are walking distance from where I live. It’s my favorite part about living downtown,” Jackie said.

A few cafes that Jackie said she would like to visit include Jobot at Fifth and Roosevelt streets, and Giant Coffee at First Street and McDowell Road.

McKenna Kutsop is a sophomore from Mountainside, New Jersey. She would like to visit Sedona, Arizona, if she were given the chance to spend time outside of Phoenix. McKenna said she visited Sedona before, and described the views as “breathtaking.”

courtesy of

photo courteesy of @mandalyn93 on instagram

“I can go anywhere and see mountains, but they don’t compare to the red mountains. While there, I think my goals would be to hike as much as possible and take in the culture of the town,” McKenna said.

I have spent much time hiking and camping in Sedona as well as reading in coffee shops, and I agree. Sedona and downtown Phoenix are both great places to visit if you are not from Phoenix.

Eternally exploring,

Amanda

Leave a comment