Roger’s Trough

Dear Phoenix,

Spring break was a few weeks ago, and while you provided the perfect weather, I wanted to do things outside the city limits.

Two of my close friends, an acquaintance of theirs and I drove out to the southeast side of the Superstition Mountains with the intentions of backpacking into Roger’s Canyon and hiking up to the ruins. It’s a four mile hike to the ruins with a 1,000 foot elevation change and a lot of overgrown plants.

Ben Peck, 20, found and suggested Roger’s Canyon as our backpacking destination. He enjoys backpacking because “I feel like 75% of the crap in my life gets filtered out, and I can just look at it in third person as a spectator.”

Jon Navarro, 21, has day hiked the Grand Canyon with me (and Ben) before. He said his favorite part of backpacking is “being away from society and trying to lose sense of time. To just be in the moment where you’re simply an observer of the beautiful existence of nature.”

I usually backpack with Ben, but this time, backpacking with Jon gave me another way to look at how the outdoors affects people. Regardless of who I asked, both men said that backpacking gives them the opportunity to be an observer, a spectator, to watch the world around them.

I agree completely.

Keep your eyes peeled, Phoenix. Be an observer for a while.

Love,

Amanda

Leave a comment